Running with “The Dahl”

Yesterday marked yet another hard day for my family and I, the annual Russell B. Dahl Alumni Meet and Varsity Time Trail at Fenton High School.  The race was first known as the “Sometimes Annual Alumni Meet and Varsity Time Trial” started in 1974, just after my dad graduated from Fenton.  Last year, they renamed it to honor my father and his passion for running and the Fenton program.  Long after graduating, you could always find my dad helping out at home meets.

I remember as a kid going to watch my dad run against the current cross country team from his alma mater. It was something I looked forward too.  Even as I became an adult and summers got busy, I always made an effort to make it back to Bensenville to watch the race.  And during my marathon training, I even used the course as part of my training.  This year I ran it hopes to connect to my dad, feel his presence, run where he had run so many years before.

The last two years, however have now brought both joy and pain.  As something is missing from the event, “The Dahl” as he was known as in high school.   Although it’s hard, it is nice to be around my dad’s friends and a place that was basically is second home.  He touched some many people’s lives and this was just another reminder of how many people loved him and miss him.

Running was his passion and love, something I was able to share with him.  And although I didn’t learn all of his running knowledge, I am thankful and blessed I was able to have him as my ‘coach’ for even just a few years.

The Russ Dahl Alumni Meet, 2015

The Russ Dahl Alumni Meet, 2015

Leave a comment