What excuse have gotten in the way of your running?

“I don’t have time” or “I’m too tired” are the excuses that I have been telling myself instead of running.  As I am not in the shape I was a few years ago, I often get frustrated that my runs don’t go the way they used to be.  However, last week, I finally got back into a routine, staying focused on getting my runs in. I stopped making excuses and started finding the time to get runs in.  Whether it was at lunch or right after work at the park next to the office, I gave myself more reasons to run instead of excuses not to.

On one of my runs, I pondered why I had been avoiding running/working out for so long. Because I know I am not the only person that skips a workout or gives excuses for not running.   Time and energy were a part of the equation but not all of it for me.  The reality is, I can’t get faster or farther on my runs if I don’t actually give a consistent effort.  I forget that feeling, that amazing feeling I have during and after a run. Achieving that goal for the day, making my body sweat and burn calories is rewarding.

Deeper down, I know running makes me think of my father. Reminds me that I don’t have him to call him after to give him a recap or call him on Sunday nights to get workouts for the week. That feeling, may never go away.  But my love for running won’t either. But I believe he is out there with me, every time I run.

My new goal is no more excuses only reasons to run.  And use running to clear my mind and bring me closer to my dad.

What are your excuses for not running?  More importantly, what are your reasons to be running?  Now, take those and replace the excuses, each and every day.

Today, I remember why I love to run and run for him.

Leave a comment